國際影音服務平台
亞洲影音的「中央廚房」

2015年,CATCHPLAY更進一步成立 AsiaPlay Inc. 以發展國際化的數位影音平台,期望不只是在台灣,更能成為亞洲區最大的數位影音「中央廚房」,整合、提供最符合亞洲市場需求的影片之外,更投入心力,發展真正由用戶角度出發、不斷創新的產品和使用介面,透過與各地的領導業者的合作,讓CATCHPLAY的影音服務以最適合當地市場的方式落地,多區域的市場形成一定規模後,期許能創造一個透過合作而生的數位影音生態圈,讓合作夥伴能以最有效益的方式發展影音的業務,也讓消費者得以享受最符合需求的服務。這樣的理念與團隊在產品發展上的努力很快得到各地夥伴的認同。

2016年3月,CATCHPLAY+影音服務在台灣正式上市、2016年6月緊接著於新加坡及印尼上市,並與兩地最大的有線電視營運商、電信商Starhub、Telkom Indonesia密切合作,提供除台灣之外2億8千萬消費者享受CATCHPLAY+的優質影音服務。

院線及發行

CATCHPLAY 成立於 2007 年,在台灣的院線及 DVD 發行業界迅速嶄露頭角。近幾年來發行的院線電影每年近 30 部,亦即平均每兩週就有一部電影上映。其他發行通路如 DVD 及數位平台等的發行量,更每年高達近 100 部,是美商六大外,台灣最大的獨立電影發行商,片庫更擁有近 2000 部電影,且多數為 “ALL RIGHTS” 全版權經營。

電影頻道

除了院線及 DVD 發行,隨著台灣有線電視數位化,CATCHPLAY 也看到頻道的發展機會,造就「CATCHPLAY HD 電影台」於 2013 年初誕生。透過多元豐富的影片,CATCHPLAY HD 電影台成為了台灣收視率最好的數位電影頻道之一,至今訂戶數已有近 100 萬戶。

合拍與投資

秉持著對內容全版權經營的理念,CATCHPLAY 於 2014 年進一步投入電影的合拍與投資,希望從源頭參與內容的創造,向電影製作產業挹注資源,也讓整個團隊對內容產業的學習能貫通上下游,更能完整掌握內容產業。2014 年起投資國片《軍中樂園》、與韓國最大的娛樂公司 CJ Entertainment 合拍華語片《重返 20 歲》,皆獲得良好的票房成績。

2015 年初,CATCHPLAY 進一步與合作夥伴共同投資好萊塢製作公司 New Regency 旗下的《神鬼獵人》《刺客教條》及《縱橫諜海》等三部大片,成為首家投資好萊塢大片的台灣公司,《神鬼獵人》更在兩岸三地獲得亮眼票房。CATCHPLAY 與合作夥伴也取得了大中華區的獨家發行權,為未來儲備獨家的自有內容。2016 年,CATCHPLAY 為奧斯卡名導馬丁史柯西斯的《沈默》提供資金與協拍資源,為首部全程在台取景的好萊塢電影。

隨著版圖擴張,CATCHPLAY 持續尋找國際合拍與投資機會,在亞洲則聚焦於華語及東南亞國家的發展。

數位平台

具前瞻性思考的 CATCHPLAY,率先看重電影數位內容的產業發展,除了積極整合內容,成為台灣最大數位電影內容整合商之外,更成立 AsiaPlay Inc. 發展服務國際電影愛好者的數位影音平台。2016 年三月,CATCHPLAY+ 正式在台營運。同年六月進入印尼和新加坡市場,並持續擴大與新加坡電信業巨頭 Starhub 及印尼電信 Telkom Indonesia,Telkomsel,Indosat 及 First Media 等當地領導業者之合作,為台灣第一個走向國際的付費影音平台。

現今 CATCHPLAY ON DEMAND 已更名為 CATCHPLAY+,是專注在提供多元高價值影劇內容的線上影音平台,更有來自世界各地的獨立電影及膾炙人口的獨家當地戲劇和國際影集。

Distribution

Founded in 2007, CATCHPLAY quickly became a major player in movie entertainment business in Taiwan by providing a wide selection of films excelling in both quantity and quality. Over the years, CATCHPLAY has continued to distribute more than 30 films theatrically every year, an average of one movie every other week, and more than 100 titles for release on home videos, TV and digital platforms. Today, we are the largest independent distributor in Taiwan with a library of more than 2,000 titles, most of which CATCHPLAY owns all rights to exclusively.

LINEAR MOVIE CHANNEL

Capitalizing on the digitalization of Taiwan’s pay TV systems, CATCHPLAY launched CATCHPLAY HD Movie Channel in early 2013. Today it has about 1 million subscribers through partnerships with major pay TV operators. Our diverse and wide range of content has made CATCHPLAY HD one of the most popular linear movie channels in Taiwan.

CO-PRODUCTION
AND INVESTMENTS

In 2014, in addition to distributing the movies CATCHPLAY loves, we embarked in earnest co-production and investment projects, venturing into content creation. In the same year, we invested in the locally produced film, Paradise in Service and co-produced 20 Once Again with CJ Entertainment for the Chinese market. Both investments generated considerable box office performance in Taiwan and China respectively.

In early 2015, we closed a partnership deal to invest in New Regency’s three enthralling titles, namely The Revenant, Assassin’s Creed and Splinter Cell, marking the first investment of a Taiwanese company in major Hollywood productions. CATCHPLAY and partners also control exclusive distribution rights to these films in Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Macau, with The Revenant generating outstanding box office results from these territories in 2016. In the same year, CATCHPLAY also provided financing and local production support to director Martin Scorsese’s passion project Silence, making it the first international production filmed entirely in Taiwan.

Today, CATCHPLAY continues to look into investment and co-production opportunities internationally and in Asia targeting particularly Chinese-speaking territories and South East Asia following our recent expansion footprints.

DIGITAL

CATCHPLAY started placing significant emphasis on the development of digital movie content years before the others did in Taiwan. Today, we are the largest provider for premium movie content in Taiwan, aggregating content from Hollywood studios including Disney, Warner Bros., NBC Universal and Paramount in addition to having a wide selection of international independent films and leading local productions for distribution on major operators’ digital platforms.

In addition to content aggregation, in 2015, CATCHPLAY established AsiaPlay Incorporated with the ambition of becoming the leading premium content service provider for movie lovers in Asia.

In March 2016, the CATCHPLAY ON DEMAND service platform made its pilot launch in Taiwan in partnerships with major telecommunication operators and device manufacturers. In June 2016, the service platform launched in Indonesia, collaborating with market leaders IndiHome, Telkom Indonesia. This was followed by expanded partnerships with Telkomsel, Indosat and First Media, and in Singapore, collaboration with the market’s leading telecommunication operator, StarHub.

Today, CATCHPLAY Media Holdings Group owns two distinct companies – CATCHPLAY Incorporated, and AsiaPlay Incorporated – with involvement from production, distribution, linear movie channel operation and both content aggregation and platform operation for digital entertainment services.